Skip to content

Hello, Tokyo. Nice to see you again. こんにちは東京。久しぶりですね。

October 29, 2015

Ok, first off, I’m a bit embarrassed about how long it’s been since my last post.  I’ve said it before (and will likely say it again), I can’t believe how time just seems to get away from you when you’re not paying attention.

本当に信じられない。あと言うまですね。前回のポストは数ヶ月前でした。ごめんね。

Before the summer break, I realized it had been seven years since visiting Tokyo.  This, despite several trips a year back to Japan.  Normally I go back to visit friends in Kansai.  I figured it was time to reacquaint myself with the megalopolis.

夏休み前に東京市旅行を予定しました。普通、関西に行ってきます。でも最後から七年間が経ちました。

If you’ve been to Tokyo in the summertime, you know it’s hot and humid.  Not as humid as Hong Kong, but the temperature still gets right up there in the low-to-mid thirties.  A big difference from the December/January temps that I experienced previously.  Also, when you visit Japan around Christmas/ New Year, even in a city like Tokyo, places tend to close down and people head back to home towns for nenmatsu (year end).  Not so at the tail-end of August.  The place is jumping.  That being said, despite the size of the populace, it feels less claustrophobic than Hong Kong.  A large part of it has to do with the attitudes of the people (which I won’t bother to rant about here) but also, there is room to spread out.  Even walking in areas like Shibuya and Shinjuku, the crush of people still feels more manageable.  Or it could be all in my head.

七年前、年末年始に行きました。面白かったけど年末中たくさん所は閉めています。八月に開けています。それだからいたるところに込んでいます!それなのに香港またのほが大変です。

The amazing thing about Tokyo is how much the city has to offer.  There’s no shortage of things to see and do for a week or ten-day trip.  I made an effort to see the many galleries and museums that I missed out on last time because they were closed for the holidays.  Even then, I didn’t come close to seeing all the museums and galleries in Tokyo.  Sadly, a few of the ones I wanted to visit were closed for renovations, most notably the Bridgestone Museum of Art (closed “for several years”) and the Metropolitan Museum of Photography (closed until late 2016).  Of the ones I did see, my recommendations would be the following:

Tokyo National Museum in Ueno Park, Watari Museum of Contemporary Art in Shibuya, Ota Memorial Museum of Art (outstanding collection of ukiyo-e) in Harajuku and the Suntory Museum of Art in Midtown.

前の旅行中博物館、美術館とガーラリーは閉めました。それで今回いっぱいの見に行ったけどブリヂストン美術館と東京都写真美術館改築のため休業中でした。

If you’re a book lover, you must also head to Jimbocho.  Granted, most of the shops specialize in Japanese books but there are a few that have great English language selections.  Don’t be put off by Japanese books.  A lot of the antique ones are fantastic for the artwork and the calligraphy alone.  If you’re looking for photobooks, try Komiya.  A great many hard to find first editions were on display when I was there.

本はだいすきので神保町の本屋へ見に行きました。一誠堂書店で素敵な大正時代絵本を買いました。二冊あります。あまり読まないけど絵はとても素晴らしいです。

I could go on.  There would certainly be enough minutia for several more paragraphs, but I’ll let the photos continue the explanation. I’ll try to have something else before too long.

たぶんそれは十分です。ここから写真を楽しんでください。また今度。

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2015 1:14 pm

    Love the young japanese fashions, although I bet I wouldn’t fit into any of them : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

