Skip to content

Berlin, I’ll be back ベルリン、帰りたいよ

November 4, 2014

Ah, Berlin.  Now I know what all the fuss is about.  Have you been?  If not, I highly recommend going.  I went in the middle of August and absolutely loved the place. Several people assured me that I would, but I didn’t think I would be as enamoured with the city as I ended up being.  I found myself feeling that I could quite happily live in Berlin.  In no particular order, it has culture, acres of green space,  a long and complicated history, an educated populace, and an intrinsic appreciation of art.  Combine that with a fantastic transit system and a location that makes it easy to get to other parts of Europe and you’ve got a winning combination.  Oh, and let’s not forget one of the most stable economies in the E.U.

ベルリンに 行ったことがありますか。もしなければ行ったほうがいいと思います。8月中に行きました。素晴らしい都市と思います。本当に住みやすいと思う。どうしてですか。文化あるし長い歴史あるしどこでも美術あるし緑豊かな公園があります。それも便利な交通網と好況があります。いいでしょう。

I stayed at The Circus Hotel at Rosenthaler Platz in Mitte.  It’s a marvelous hotel in a grand historical building.  The location is fantastically convenient for transit and also close to many sites, yet outside of the hustle and bustle of the main part of the city.  Head up Brunnenstrasse for great restaurants and funky shops.  On Sundays, keep going up to Mauer Park for the flea market and music extravaganza.  In the other direction down Rosenthaler Strasse, you’ll come to Auguststrasse, again with quiet cafes and interesting shops, as well as art galleries by the score.  Make sure you stop in at Do You Read Me? if you like good magazine shops.  Interested in absinthe?  On Weinmeisterstrasse is the Absinth Depot.  Who knew there were so many varieties?  Keep walking down Rosenthaler Strasse to Hackescher Markt.  Make sure you wander through the beautiful Art Nouveau-style Hackeshe Höfe with its interconnected courtyards and small shops.  If you keep walking and you’re so inclined, you’ll eventually make it to Alexander Platz.  It’s great to say you’ve seen it, but I wasn’t overly impressed.  Far too touristy for me.

The Circus Hotelで泊まりました。素敵なホテルです。たくさん面白い所が近くにあります。地下鉄とトラムもホテル前に止まります。そのあたりにたくさんレストランや面白い店があります。たとえば、Do you read me?の雑誌屋とAbsinth Depotのお酒屋よく行きました。Hackeshe Höfeも面白かったです。アールヌーボーの旧館です。日曜日、マウアーパークに行ったほうがいい。大きい蚤の市があります。多い演奏家もいました。本当にお祭り感じがあります。

All of that and more in one small area of Berlin.  That doesn’t even begin to take in the typical fare of museums, the various remaining parts of the Berlin wall, and other spots of interest.  Being summer, outdoor markets were happening on weekends.  I went to one at Boxhagener Platz in Friedrichshain that was one part craft fair, one part farmer’s market.  The atmosphere was fantastic.  So too was the huge Sunday flea market in Mauer Park, though I was more interested in the vast array of musical talent on display outside the market area.  There were some seriously good musicians out there.  And oh, the Bear-pit karaoke is an absolute must-see (and do if you’ve got the cahones to sing in front of hundreds of people).

夏休みだったのでたくさん外市場がありました。夏でベルリン市中、公園に週末市場があります。Boxhagener Platzの市場へ見に行きました。小さいのに雰囲気が素晴らしかったです。新鮮な野菜や肉や花が豊富でした。楽しんだ。技芸物もありました。かっこいいTシャツを買いました。(笑)

On the downside, it wasn’t a very good summer for me photographically.  As with the photos I took in Vancouver, I evidently had a bad roll in Berlin that I tried to salvage in post-processing.  You can probably tell which photos are from that particular roll.  To add insult to injury, I somehow managed to delete an entire folder of digital images and video I had taken, primarily of street art and night shots.  There were in excess of 100 images I lost with the press of a button.  I’m not impressed with myself and I still have no idea how I managed to do it.  Evidently I need to re-evaluate how I archive files.  At least with film, I still have a hard copy.

残念ことは今年の夏休みが写真としては悪かったです。バンクーバー同じで悪いフィルムロールで撮影しまいました。Photoshopで救難試みました。おまけにデジカメを撮った写真はパソコンから抹消しました。100枚写真ぐらいは無くなりました。信じられなかった。この前にぜんぜんしたことない。今、しょうがないですね。

All in all, it was a fantastic trip and I can’t recommend visiting enough.  Now I just need to decide when to go back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2014 4:46 pm

    I knew you’d love this city!!! Where to next?

    Like

  2. November 4, 2014 7:29 pm

    You were not wrong! I have given more than a little thought to how to move there.

    “Where to next?” is a very good question. Trying to decide on Xmas at the moment but I’m also giving some thought to Havana when I’m home next summer. Sooner than that, I’m not sure. Morocco is pretty high on my list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

