Skip to content

Temple Gardens お寺の庭

June 18, 2014

As I mentioned previously, I stayed in Kyoto this trip, rather than Osaka as I usually do.  Part of the reasoning behind that was because I had a few Japanese gardens that I hadn’t been to that I really wanted to check out.  I revisited a couple, but it was the undiscovered (by me, at least) that I was really after.  If you’ve never been to a Japanese garden, I highly recommend visiting if you get the chance.  You don’t need to hop to every temple garden you come to, but there’s something incredibly soothing about spending some time in them (granted, they’re not overly tranquil when busloads of tour buses disgorge their cargo to disrupt the zen).  There are a variety of different styles of Japanese garden and they all have their inherent charms.  One of the amazing things to consider, is that many of them have been around for centuries!

普通、関西に行く時に大阪の梅田ところを泊まります。今回、京都に泊まるを決めました。なぜですか。一つ、京都が大好きです。二つ、違うの経験がほしかったです。三つ、いろいろなお寺の庭を行きたかったです。

Aside from Nanzen-ji, which I could see from my hotel room, Honen-in, Eikan-do, and the others along the Philosopher’s Path up to Ginkaku-ji, most of the gardens I planned to visit were a bit out of the way, but well worth the effort.

僕のホテルから南禅寺を見えました。そこから、哲学の道にそってたくさん好きなお寺があります。ところが今回、行った事ないお寺を行きたかったです。

From Ichijo-ji station on the Eizan Electric Rail Line, you can wander through the countryside of north-east Kyoto.  There are quite a number of temples/gardens around but given the distances between them, and since I was walking, I knew I would only get to a handful of them.  The ones on my list were Shisen-do, Enkou-ji and Manshu-in Monzeki.

北東の一乗寺の地方に三つお寺に行きました。とくに園光時と 曼殊院門跡は素敵な枯山水があります。詩仙堂は景勝の地だと思います。

Arashiyama also has a plethora of temple gardens.  The moss garden of Giou-ji was the one in particular that I wanted to get to.  Most people interested in moss gardens in Kyoto typically want to get to Saihou-ji; problem being that you need to book, by mail, a spot in advance.  At Giou-ji, walk through the fantastic scenery of western Arashiyama and you can just waltz through the gate.  After paying your fee, of course.

西芳寺はとても有名な苔庭ですけど行きかた為とてもややこしいです。嵐山の祇王時も苔庭があるのに行き方は簡単です。嵐山の景色中そぞ歩きしても楽しいですよ。情緒にいいでしょう。本当にお勧めています。

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

