Skip to content

Just an entree 前菜だけです

February 17, 2014

This is just a bit of an intro, or an entree, if you like.  Over the Chinese New Year (Lunar New Year) break recently, I spent the time in Paris.  It was my first trip to the city and certainly won’t be my last.  Despite the less than ideal weather, it was a great introduction to the City of Light.

このポストはちょっと前菜だけです。今年の春節休み中、パリに行きました。はじめの旅行です。天気がちょっと悪かったのに楽しかったです。

Of course, there were the typical tourist things I needed to do as a first-timer, like go to the Louvre, head up the Eiffel tower, and see Notre Dame cathedral, but I also spent a lot of time just wandering around the various areas and seeing what could be seen.

もちろん、ツーリストのことをしました。たとえば、イッフェル塔に登ったし沢山美術館にいきました。でも、数ヶ所で散歩しました。面白い事を見たしやさしい人を会いました。

Before going, I had heard the stories of how Parisians aren’t all that friendly or accommodating to people who don’t speak French, but I didn’t find that at all.  I speak a small amount of French, enough to get by in a basic situation, but when I got into trouble and had to ask if they could speak English, it was never a problem.  I met quite a few folks in my wanderings, and by and large I found the French to be a pretty genial lot.  So, don’t believe everything you hear.

旅行に行った前、「パリ人は優しくない」の申し立てを聞いた。でも、全体にそのことはないと思います。実は、ほとんど問題なかったです。

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

