Skip to content

Roman holiday ローマの休み。

March 10, 2013

Yes, I realize it’s been overly long since I posted anything, but things have been frightfully mundane for the past several months.  Thankfully, the status quo was skewered recently by a trip over the Chinese (Lunar)  New Year break with my first ever trip to Rome (I tossed my coin into the Trevi fountain, so I need to go back).

とっても久しぶりですね。本当にすみません。実は、クリスマスから日常生活はつまらないだった。写真があんまり撮らなかったんです。漸く、面白い事をしました。春節休み中、ローマに行きました。楽しかったです。

Why it took me so long to get there, I have no idea, as it’s a destination I’ve had in mind for ages.  I knew my pre-trip planning was overly optimistic; there was no way I was going to get to see and do everything I wanted to during one, 10-day trip.  Still, I made a valiant effort and tried to mix things up by not only seeing the major sites, but venturing off the beaten track as much as possible during my wanderings.  And wander, I did.  Since the weather cooperated quite well, I typically walked from morning to night with breaks for lunch and espresso (’cause you can’t pass up espresso in Italy).

前々からローマに行きたいんです。この前行かなかったかどうだわからない。この旅行は10日泊まりました。それでも、全部見たいな所を見なかったです。ところが頑張りました。もちろん、有名な所に行きましたけど色々な所にも見たかったです。毎日、たくさん散歩しました。普通、天気が良かったです。そして、朝から夜まで歩きました。言うまでもない、ご飯やエスプレッソ休憩をしました。ローマに行く時にイスプレッソを飲まないといけませんでしょうね。

So, without any futher ado, let’s just start off with some general photos taken during those wanderings.

では、散歩中撮った写真を始めましょう。

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicola Hayward permalink
    March 11, 2013 5:44 am

    hey,
    good post, but you got it wrong with the ara pacis. it was commissioned in
    13 bce by the roman senate FOR augustus, and dedicated to him and the peace
    he brought in 9 bce. he, himself, never built it, but it does depict his
    political agenda. the latin writing is the ‘res gestae divi augusti’,
    augustus’ account of his deeds and honours while he was alive, which would
    have been read out during his funeral. when you were looking at the text,
    directly behind you was augustus’ mausoleum. here’s the part about the ara
    pacis:

    When I returned to Rome from Spain and Gaul, having successfully
    accomplished matters in those provinces, when Tiberius Nero and Publius
    Quintilius were consuls (13 B.C.E.), the senate voted to consecrate the
    altar of August Peace in the field of Mars for my return, on which it
    ordered the magistrates and priests and Vestal virgins to offer annual
    sacrifices.
    *Res Gestae Divi Augusti* II.12

    n

    Like

Leave a Reply

