Skip to content

A bit of an experiment ちょっと試みです

December 9, 2011

I wanted to test out the street photography possibilities of my Mamiya, so I headed to one of the busiest parts of Hong Kong island: Time’s Square in Causeway Bay.  On a weekend, no less!  For those of you familiar with the Big Lychee, you will understand what this means, though it was a Saturday, not Sunday.  I’m not a complete masochist!  For those of you who have never been here, it’s tough to explain, but on Sundays in particular, it almost feels like half the population of Hong Kong descends on Causeway Bay.  I think the other half head to the Mong Kok area in Kowloon.

マミヤでストリート撮影を試みをしたかったです。そして、とても込み合う所に行きました:香港島のタイムズ スクエア。その所に行ったことがあればわかっていると思います。行ったことなければ東京の渋谷や大阪の道頓堀みたいです。

I wanted to see what kind of shots I could get as folk went about their business.  Given that the Mamiya is quite stealthy for such a big camera, I figured it would work quite well.  I shot two rolls of film in a short period of time; about 20 minutes.  For the first roll, I wandered around a bit but with the other, I planted myself in one spot and just took folks coming down the stairs.

フイルムのロール2個早くを撮影。20分ごろだけです。最初の、ちょっと歩きながら写真を撮りました。それで、同じ所に立つながらを撮りました。

Here are the results.  Needs a bit of refinement, I think.

この写真は記録です。ちょっと垢抜けすることが必要とすると思います。

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 6:32 am

    There really isn’t a better camera for street shooting than a TLR. While my Mamiya has better glass, I sometimes will use my Yashica as it is even smaller and less obtrusive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

