Skip to content

I know, I know… はい、分かった。。。

July 2, 2010

Yes, I realize that it’s been a hell of a while since I last posted but it’s been a hell of a time for me since the last post; I was job hunting.  Not the most relaxing pursuit at the best of times, even less so when you’re in a country not your own and deportation looms should you be unfortunate enough not to get anything.  I’d been reassured on several fronts that I had nothing to worry about but, unlike the people doing the reassuring, I had been in this situation before and it didn’t end well so I had all good reason to be apprehensive.  Thankfully, all ended well and it would appear that my next employer will be considerably better than one I’m leaving.

久しぶりですね。最後のポストから大変な時なので。新しい仕事を捜しました。本当に緊張の多い環境でした。その時、たくさん履歴書を送ったり面接に行ったり心配しました。でも、今大丈夫です。いい仕事を見つけりました。今から楽しみにしています。

During that time, I didn’t do much other than send out resumes, do follow-up calls and go to interviews.  Oh, and worry.  A lot.  The one artistic pursuit I tried to complete was the album for my parents to commemorate their 50th wedding anniversary last year.  At that time, I had taken portraits of all the people in attendance with the aim of creating said memento.  I finally got it finished and they were thrilled with it.  Not too many people realize that I hand make books and have been doing so for 15 years or so.  Generally, I do travel diaries for myself or photo albums for friends, all hand stitched and covered in a variety of materials though I’m partial to Japanese papers and sometimes leather.  I’ve posted photos below of the anniversary album and of some of the travel diaries I’ve made over the last couple years.  I’m not good at remembering to take pictures of them and one particular friend of mine has been giving me grief about it (yeah, you know who you are).

仕事を捜した時、写真を撮らなかった。ちょっと芸術活動をしました。去年は僕の両親の50年記念日でした。その時、パーティに来った人の写真を撮りました。それでアルバムを作りました。15年ぐらい手酢くり本を作っています。旅行日記とか写真アルバムとかいろいろな本を作ります。紙を切ると縫います。それから千代紙や革でカーバーを作ります。下にちょっと作った本の写真をポストしました。見て下さい。

Speaking of pictures, it’s going to be a bit more of a wait before I get some up here as it’s summer holidays soon and I’ll be away for a while.  Other than back home to Vancouver, I’m not going to say where else at the moment so it’ll be a surprise when I do finally get some images up here.  So, have a good summer and I’ll be back in a month or so with more photos (and maybe some video too).

来週ごろ夏休みは始まるのでほか写真のポストもうちょっと待ってください。ぜひカナダに行きます。でも、他國も行きます。驚くになるように秘密です。

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gladys permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:38 pm

    Hi Mr Gordon (like what the kids call you😀 )
    your profolio is inspiring! And was surprised you know Japanese very well!

    I got a very simple webpage with a few of my random snaps, if you want to see (an unfinished one, so embarrassing LOL)

    http://s-nap-it.xanga.com/

    btw, enjoy your trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

