Skip to content

Showtime 個展

July 9, 2009

Yes, I realize it’s been a month since my last posting and I apologize for that.  The reason is two-fold.  First, life just hasn’t been all that interesting recently and with all the “real” news out there being published ad nauseum, I don’t see much point in rehashing it here.  Secondly, and somewhat more importantly, I’ve been preparing for my very first solo photo show which will be taking place in October.  Very exciting I must admit.  I’ve had my work in group exhibits before but never just my own.

すみません。久しぶりですね。理由が二重のです。一つ、最近、僕の生活は面白くないです。でも、二つ、少し忙しかったです。始めの個展を準備しています。十月であります。本当に楽しみにしています。

It’s going to be somewhat of a double-themed show though both themes are connected in that they’re both Japanese images.  The first part will be of my friend, swordsmith Takami Kuniichi.  The second part will be centered on some of the many Japanese temples I’ve visited over the years.  The images are all 10″ square and printed on Hanemuhle bamboo fine-art paper.  Not only is it environmentally friendly, but I though the bamboo would really fit well with the subject matter.  The matte surface has a slight texture to it so really reminds me of the fibre-based paper I used to use when I was still doing my own darkroom printing.  I’m really happy with the results.   Still working out a theme for the show which is a bit difficult with the two parts but also, I want to stay away from the obvious cliches regarding the temple images.

テーマは二つがあります。僕の刀匠友達は高見國一とお寺に行きましたです。写真は10インチ平方です。ハネムールの竹紙でプリントしました。グリーンやテーマにぴったりと思います。完成品が好きです。

As of Monday I’ll be on holidays which means a trip back home followed by a trip back to Japan (my second home).  I’ll try to get a post done during the week I’m back in Hong Kong between trips.  In the meantime, the attached photos are the ones that I’ll be exhibiting (for those of you not able to attend).

月曜日から夏休みを始めます。まず、バンクーバーに帰ります。そして、日本に行きます。今度までに個展の写真を見てくれてください。

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carman permalink
    July 10, 2009 12:13 am

    I always like your photos and I am looking forward to it too! How can I miss it ?!

    Like

  2. sfrack permalink
    July 19, 2009 9:10 pm

    Great photos. I took zillions of photos while visiting Japan, at least a dozen at the Golden Pavillion. Your photos brought back fond memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

