Skip to content

Of curses and cars 呪うと車について

March 11, 2008

Hong Kong is a modern city that refuses to let go of certain traditions and superstitions. One such tradition is the white tiger ritual held in March. Typically found in Causeway Bay along Canal street, this is where clients of the practitioners take revenge upon individuals by beating a paper effigy with a shoe. Bosses and annoying co-workers are especially popular but housewives will also go after their husbands’ mistresses. As the practitioner beats on the effigy, they will call out the victim’s name and yell out curses and cast spells upon them during the beating. I might have to try it next year. There are a couple of people I can think of who could use a good hexing.
香港は現代の所でもたくさん迷信があります。たとえば、3月で白虎の儀式があります。従業者の客の仇を討ってます。 従業者は靴で紙像を打つと客の敵を呪ってます。親分だし同僚だし夫の愛人は人気があります。多分来年それをします。二人ぐらいを呪たいんです。

I curse youAltarCustomers

Seeing this on the street was a complete surprise to me. I didn’t even know this car had been released yet since it’s supposed to be a 2009 model but there it was in all its glory; a spanking new Nissan GTR. Now, for those in the know, this used to be known as the Skyline GTR but Nissan decided to drop the “Skyline” part. Since 1969 the Skyline has been a legendary performance car with a cult following but with this version, it blasts into supercar territory already crowded by the likes of Ferrari, Porsche, and Lamborghini among select others. If I had to choose between this and a Porsche, I’d take the GTR.

見た時びっくりした。この車は2009のですけどそこにありました。新しいNissan GTRです。このモデルまでに名前はスカイラインGTRでした。今からGTRだけです。1969からスカイラインはすごく名機車です。今からスーパーカーになりました。GTRかポルシェかどちらがほしいですか。GTRがほしいです。

Nissan GTRNissan GTRNissan GTR

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carman permalink
    March 11, 2008 11:33 pm

    Hey Gordon, don’t beat me with your shoes -_-“!

    You always nice to me. Hm…….ok I will borrow my 3″inch high heels for you when you want to try next year ^_-.

    Like

  2. Erin Matheny permalink
    March 12, 2008 9:18 am

    How is it that I missed out on this fabulous tradition while working for my cow of a HK principal?!??!?!?!? If I had only known, there would have been a whole lotta hexing going on! I wonder if I can hex retroactively?!?!? Of course, I could always pick up something in a voodoo shop in Louisiana next week too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

