Skip to content

Walkabout 散歩する

September 24, 2007

Some of the most interesting times I had during my trip were the times when I just wandered. I really enjoy walking around when I travel because that’s when you actually see the interesting aspects of a place. You can’t meet people and stop at the interesting things from the passenger seat of a car or inside a tour bus. Of course, since most of the tourists tend to take moto-taxi or tuk-tuk, the drivers looked at me with quizzical expressions when I constantly declined their offers. Really, the only time I rode the tuk-tuks were when I headed into town at night for dinner or when I was heading to the temples.
旅行の間に一番面白い事は町に散歩したながらです。もしいつも車やバースを乗る面白い物が見えないし人が合えないでしょう。たいてい、観光人はモトタクシを乗ります。僕はあまりモトタクシを乗らなかった。

On one day, I decided to take a complete day off from going to the temples and walked to and from the old part of town. On the mornings of the final two days, I went to the open market just down the road from my hotel before heading out for the day. In all these instances, it was great to see the daily goings-on of the people and to interact with them. Despite the horrors that the Cambodian people have been through in the past and the continued poverty of the country, primarily due to rampant corruption, they seem to be some of the happiest and most accommodating people I’ve met.
或る日お寺に行かないを決まりました。代わりに旧近所に行ってきました。その前に朝ご飯を食べた後で公設市場に行きました。僕のホーテル近いからです。カンボジア人の生活は大変です。大部人は貧乏に生まれましたけど嬉しそうです。

Siem Reap riverYa-Tep shrineRoad-side standOn the goClose shave

The market that I wandered through was so amazing that I went back there two mornings in a row. The energy was frenetic but calm at the same time. No one was getting stressed at the press of people, not even me. A far cry from the way the press of HK people makes me feel. The produce as well is some of the best I’ve seen. Most definitely better than what I’ve seen in the “fresh” markets in HK. As the only foreigner wandering through the market, I got a fair amount of curious looks but it’s amazing what a simple smile can do to relax people. I loved the fact that the kids in particular were so unafraid to communicate. It’s a great feeling when a two or three year old kid waves enthusiastically and belts out a hearty “hello” to you as you’re walking past.
その公設市場はすごく雰囲気がありました。そして2目朝に行きました。活発な雰囲気がありましたけど、静けさでした。公設市場で生きのいい食品がありました。野菜、魚、肉、卵、果物。せんぶ生きの良いでした。本当にその公設市場の食品ほうが香港より生きの良いです。公設市場の中で僕は一人の外国人でした。そしてカンボジア人が興味がありました。たくさん子供は「おはよ!」と言っていました。楽しかった。

BananasTraffic jamHard at workSooo freshWatermelon babyThe three amigos

Both traditional and international foods are great in Siem Reap. My guidebook had recommended a particular café called the Blue Pumpkin. I went there three days in a row primarily for two things: the mango yoghurt shake and the ice-cold, mentholated hand towels. Both are extremely welcome in the middle of a really hot day. I also went to the one and only Mexican restaurant for lunch one day. Who would have guessed that the best mojito I’ve ever had would be in Cambodia?
シエム•リープで伝統的な食べ物と国際の食べ物はすてきだった。三日目にブルーパンプキンに行きました。面白い喫茶店です。一番いい物は二つがありました:氷のように冷たいのお絞りとマンゴ•ヨーグルト•シェーク。暑い日の中で両方があるよかったです。

The Blue PumpkinHeaven

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

