Skip to content

Doesn’t add up

September 6, 2007

Red wine + computer keyboard = nothing good

In all my years of owning a computer, I have never had “an incident”. Until last week. I managed to spill red wine all over the keyboard of my beloved Powerbook. I’m still not entirely certain how it happened but it will forever go down in the annals of my personal history as “The Red Wine Incident” or “RWI” for short. One second I’m reaching for the glass, the next I’m grabbing the computer and tilting it up, watching liquid drain like blood from the casing.

Ok, perhaps a bit melodramatic but hey, this is my Mac we’re talking about here. Thankfully, the damage doesn’t seem too terrible as I was still able to use the computer for about a week with only the F1-4 buttons not working. I waited, hoping nothing else would die in the lead up to getting back to work where I would at least have a computer in order to check on email.

That being the case, it means that I can’t finish scanning my Cambodia pictures nor can I update my blog adequately (with pictures, I mean). Also, for all my Japanese-as-a-first-language friends, I can’t type in Japanese from the work computers.

I have a feeling that I’ll be getting a lot done around the apartment in the interim. For those of you that don’t know, I don’t own a TV (HK programming really bites and the cable companies are dodgy). My computer is my entertainment centre. Good thing I like to read and I actually had ordered a couple of first editions off Abebooks.com which came the other day which I’m sure I’ll devour in no time (The 47 Ronin story and High Fidelity(signed), in case you’re wondering). I’m also pretty sure that my apartment is going to be absolutely sparkling by the time my aluminum skinned toy gets back to me.

So, in the meantime, take care and stay tuned for the conclusion of my Cambodia trip soon (I hope).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Danimal permalink
    September 6, 2007 2:21 pm

    Hitory? Or is that meant to be “hatori”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

