Skip to content

Busy weekend 週末忙しかった

March 25, 2007

I realize I don’t update this as often as some would like but, I’m desperately trying to avoid this becoming soapbox for the things that irritate me about Hong Kong. If I did that, I’d be posting constantly.
久しぶりですね。ごめんなさい。最近忙しいかった。

Well, my trip to Japan has pretty much been finalized. I received confirmation the other day that my room at Shojoshin-in has been booked. A traditional Japanese room, complete with tatami mats overlooking the temple’s Japanese garden. The other thing that will be very interesting is that I’ll be attending the morning service at the temple. It begins at 6:00 am and lasts for about half an hour. I’m sure it’s going to something to be sitting there listening to the rhythmic chanting of the sutras. I’m hoping that they might allow pictures to be taken during that time but I’m not counting on it.
私の旅行の準備はだいたい終わりました。お寺の予約を確認しました。僕の部屋からお寺の庭を見るといっていました。素敵なあ。もう一回面白事があります。朝の礼拝に出ます。その時に写真を取りたいですけれどそれはだめでしょうね。

Both days of this weekend I went traipsing around different parts of Hong Kong. Saturday, I had gone to Central on Hong Kong island where they have a display of some of Salvador Dali’s sculptures. The amazing thing is that these are (apparently) the actual sculptures, not replicas. The fact that you can walk up and touch them is, in itself, pretty amazing. Granted, they are bronze so it’s not like there’s going to be much damage done to them.
土曜日に香港島に行きました。中央所にはダリの彫像があります。この彫像は本物です。すごいですね。

img_0707.JPG Woman Aflame

img_0710.JPG Space Venus

img_0717.JPG Alice in Wonderland

Sunday, I returned to an area of Mong Kok on the Kowloon side of the water. I can hear my friends who have lived in Hong Kong saying, “Mong Kok on a Sunday?! Are you nuts?” Yes, well. I went to a less busy area (it’s all relative really) that a colleague of mine had introduced me to. When she said it was famous for fish, I immediately thought she was talking about the type you eat. No. This is two main streets that have almost nothing but aquarium shops. Some of them are tiny little places with only fish in bags. Let me tell you, some of these poor little guys were well past their ‘sell by’ date. Other shops were huge deals that contained tropical tanks that would give the Vancouver Aquarium a run for its money.
日曜日にモンコク所に行きました。モンコクは日曜日にいつもすごくこんでいます。でも面白い所です。その辺りに行ったはたくさんアクアリウムの店があります。小さい店と大き店もあります。面白いですけれどときどき死んだ魚を見ました。それは残念ですね。

img_0723.JPG

img_0727.JPG Fa Yuen Street, Mong Kok

Well, this will probably be my last post until I return from Japan on the 13th of April. I’ll have lots to tell after that. Stay tuned sports fans.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

