Skip to content

New Year events

February 23, 2007

Well, the official new year holiday is over and things are basically back to (what constitutes) normal in Hong Kong. According to the news, on the last day of the holiday approximately 450,000 people returned to HK – in one day! I am so glad I wasn’t travelling on that day.
旧暦の新年の休みはおわりました。ニュズで読んだ、休みの最後の日には45万人くらい香港に帰りました。一日だけ。それはちょっと信じられない。

I mentioned in my last post that I was heading out to a New Year Eve dinner. I went, I ate (far too much), I needed to be rolled out the door. Holiday dinners are evidently the same all over the world. People get together and stuff themselves silly. The dinner itself was, what they would call in Japanese, nabe. Basically everything is put in one pot cooked on a burner in the middle of the table and then everyone just helps themselves from the pot. As it gets emptied, it just keeps getting refilled. I even got to walk away with a couple of lai see, the red packets of lucky money.
友達の家に行きました。旧暦の新年の晩ご飯を食べました。おいしかった。食べすぎました。日本の鍋みたいです。でも、なべと食品もちょっとちがいます。鍋は金属ですけれど焜炉は同じです。ライシーをもらった。それは赤い封筒見たい。その中で幸運お金があります。中国の伝統です。

red packet
Next day (New Year’s day) I made my way to a couple of the more famous temples in the local area. They were crazy and certainly reminded me of the new year days I have spent in Japan going to shrines. The one difference is that in HK, they burn a lot more of the joss sticks of incense. I smelled like a campfire by the end of the day. Not an altogether unpleasant smell but murder on the eyes. The folks who were working the shrines/temples all wore masks and goggles for protection.
新年の日、有名な神社に行きました。たくさん人がいました。香港神社でいっぱい香を燃えます。煙に包まれました。すぐにぼくの香りはキャンプファイアみたいでした。においは大丈夫ですけれど目がいたかったよ。神社の社員はゴグルをかけていた。

Wong Tai Sin

Wong Tai Sin 2

Make a wish

There’s also a ‘wishing tree’ that people used to toss offerings into. It’s a huge banyan tree that’s well over 100 years old. Throwing votives is no longer allowed because the tree has been slowly dying due to the strain. Attempts to revive it are being made but apparently it’s still not doing well. Would be a shame if it died. I noticed that some people have started throwing things into a different tree about 100 metres away from the original. I guess some people don’t learn.
これはちょっと変な日本語でしょう。願望の木へ行きました。100年以上のバンヤン木です。残念事はゆっくり死になります。昔から人々は木に奉納を投げます。今、それはだめですけれど木はもう死になります。

Wishing tree

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

